Advisory Board

The IOC Diploma in Sports Nutrition is awarded by the International Olympic Committee.

The program operates under the academic oversight of an international Academic Advisory Board, who will advise on and be responsible for all aspects of academic standards, including quality assurance of course content and moderation of student assessment.

Program Directors

Prof Ron Maughan, United Kingdom


Ron Maughan is Chair of the Nutrition Working Group established in 2002 by the IOC Medical Commission. He organised the IOC Consensus Conference on Nutrition in Sport in 2003, the FIFA/F-MARC Consensus Conference on Nutrition in Football in 2005 the IAAF Consensus Conference on Nutrition in Athletics in 2007.

He has published extensively in the scientific literature and is author or editor of a number of books on sports nutrition and exercise biochemistry. He is a member of the Editorial Board of several Journals, including the International Journal of Sports Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism, Experimental Physiology, the Journal of Sports Sciences, the International Journal of sports Medicine, and Nutrition.

Prof Louise M Burke, Australia


Louise Burke is a sports dietitian who has worked with elite athletes for 25 years. She has been the Head of the Dept of Nutrition at the Australian Institute of Sport for the past 16 years, and is a current member of the IOC Nutrition Working Group. She has published over 60 papers in peer-reviewed journals and has authored and edited a number of book on sports nutrition for professionals, athletes and coaches.

She is on the editorial board of the International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism and Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise. Louise was the Team Dietitian for the Australian Olympic team at the 1996, 2000 and 2004 Olympic Games.

Dr Susan M Shirreffs, United Kingdom


Susan Shirreffs studied physiology at the University of Aberdeen, where she qualified with BSc and PhD degrees. She has been undertaking research and teaching in the area of exercise physiology and nutrition for the past 16 years. She has published in both peer-reviewed journals and in physiology and nutrition textbooks.

She is a member of the Editorial Board of International Journal of Sports Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism, Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise, Journal of Sports Science and Asian Journal of Exercise and Sport Science.

The International Advisory Board

  • Prof M Hargreaves, Australia
  • Prof JA Hawley, Australia
  • Prof A Jeukendrup, UK
  • Dr B Kiens, Denmark
  • Prof LJC van Loon, The Netherlands
  • Dr M Manore, USA
  • Dr V Matsudo, Brasil
  • Prof SM Phillips, Canada
  • Dr S Powers, USA
  • Dr C Rosenbloom, USA
  • Dr LL Spriet, Canada
  • Prof C Williams, UK]